Mentors, Tormentors: Call for TBR-9 Posts

April 30, 2008 at 9:36 am 17 comments

There were teachers, and there were mentors. We all knew there was a difference. Whether it was your basic medical science lab professor or it was the department chairman, we had our favorites.

On the other hand, there were those who loved to torture us. Why do they create greater impact? Deeper wounds, maybe? Or do they really?

I enjoin all contributors to The Blog Rounds to submit posts for the 8th Edition of TBR. The theme is your favorite mentor and/or tormentor during medical school and training. They may be the same person, or not. You may have several favorites. Most importantly, share your experiences with these people, and the reason why they have created an impact on you as a doctor and as a person.

Please leave a comment or e-mail me at I will need:
1. The title of your post
2. The permalink of your post
3. Your blog name and URL

Deadline: 12 a.m. (Manila time or +8GMT), Tuesday, May 6 May 13.

Erratum: Doc Emer is hosting the 8th Edition of TBR. Please see Doc Emer’s call for posts here:
I’ll host the 9th edition. My apologies for the confusion. My bad. I was so eager-beaver to respond to Doc Remo’s request to host the next TBR. ;)

Entry filed under: The Blog Rounds. Tags: .

Crazy In Love All Different

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kokegulper  |  May 1, 2008 at 4:26 pm

    This is so great Megamom! I wonder who tops the list (of tormentors) for us who comes from “The Faura Med School”? Hehe. I remember my batch got infamous after one classmate inadvertently posted a transcription that “booed” one of this tormentor. That prof flunked around 10 students in that batch.! Even if I wasn’t in her tormenting target, I still don’t feel like revealing that professor’s name!!

    Parang kilala ko yan ah! Di bale, anonymous na lang pag ganyan. We all might get into trouble here, hehe… ~MegaMom

  • 2. kokegulper  |  May 1, 2008 at 4:51 pm

    Oops! Sorry for the mix up megamom! You’d be hosting nga pala TBR after Doc Emer. That would be TBR 9.

    We are very flattered by the eagerness and caliber of host s this past editions of TBR. And your theme just fired the burning desire for me to “torment” my tormentors before, hahahaha!

    Thanks again for accepting the hosting schedule megamom! Don’t forget to submit your post for Doc Emer’s edition of TBR.

    No worries, Doc Remo. Will await your post on your tormentor. haha! ~MegaMom

  • 3. J.A.  |  May 1, 2008 at 6:58 pm

    I think I’m going to write about my encounters with are newly-retired Dean… I’m not so sure if I’m the only one who would think of doing so though… Any other M.D. bloggers out there who are CIM alumni? :)

    Why don’t you still go ahead an write your experiences? I am sure yours will be uniquely from your point of view. ;) ~MegaMom

  • 4. carlshark  |  May 8, 2008 at 10:46 am

    I didn’t have a tormentor really during medical school… and posting about the best mentor I had would be unfair to other, equally great mentors. ;)

    During my training, well, that would be a different matter altogether. :D

    MegaMom, I’ll be emailing you the link once I am done with the post.

    Best regards,

  • 5. Abner Hornedo  |  May 8, 2008 at 7:56 pm

    hello this is my contribution for the 9th TBR…


  • 6. manggy  |  May 9, 2008 at 3:28 pm

    Hi MegaMom, here’s my entry:
    Post title: California Maki
    Post URL:
    Blog Name: No Special Effects
    Blog URL:

    I would have e-mailed it but yahoo has the nasty habit of trashing my emails to my friends :O

  • 7. dr_clairebear  |  May 9, 2008 at 4:28 pm

    hi, megamom! :) here’s my post… “Under the Influence”.

    i have no idea what i ate. the weird thing is that two of my friends and i ate exactly the same thing, and only two of us got the horrible AGE. the preggy one didn’t (buti na lang). is pregnancy protective? :P

  • 8. gigi  |  May 10, 2008 at 3:48 am

    Hi Megamom, thank you for the kind invitation. Here are the details of my contribution to TBR-9:

    Title: The Blog Rounds 9: In Memory Of A Mentor


    Name Of Blog: Beyond Borders; The Lei Si Chronicles

    Blog URL:

    Sent you email as well :)

  • 9. MerryCherry  |  May 10, 2008 at 1:36 pm

    Hi Doc. Here’s my entry. Emailed you the same thing, but just to be sure…

    Title: He said, she said
    Permalink: He said, she said
    Blog: MerryCherry, MD

  • 10. kokegulper  |  May 10, 2008 at 11:25 pm

    Hi Megamom!

    Here is my entry to your TBR edition.

    Tormented Learning: A paradigm shift?

    Thanks again for hosting this editon!

  • 11. got meloinks?  |  May 11, 2008 at 8:59 pm

    Gud pm Megamom. Salamat po sa invite. I just wonder sometimes pagpinost namin dito yung mga URL ng posts namin, na-pre-preempt ang TBR. Malamang mababasa ko yung iba dito. Hehehe.

    Pero, anyway, eto po yung sakin, hehehe:

    Title – Tyrannosaurus professorus rex

    Permalink –

    Blog name – the Philippine Daily Idiot

    Blog URL –

    Kinocross-post ko po to sa Friendster pero gamitin nyo na lang po yung blogspot blog ko. Kitakits. Mel

  • 12. Martin B  |  May 12, 2008 at 6:18 am

    Megamom, my entry is at

    Thanks for hosting.

  • 13. Em Dy  |  May 12, 2008 at 3:46 pm

    Mine’s up too. I took some liberty though with the theme; did not limit myself to med school.

  • 14. Joey  |  May 12, 2008 at 7:10 pm

    Hi, Megamom! Here’s my entry:

    Warning, it’s long! I didn’t realize how long it was until I read it afterwards!

  • 15. ness  |  May 12, 2008 at 11:51 pm

    sent you an email megamom…

  • 16. megamomph  |  May 13, 2008 at 12:10 am

    Hello, doctors. The response is overwhelming. It’s great! It looks to be a very promising TBR-9 round-up! ~MegaMom

  • 17. bricalz  |  May 13, 2008 at 1:36 am

    I don’t know if I did this right.

    My first time posting. Doc Ness invited us a couple of weeks and blog rounds back, but only got around to posting for the blog rounds today.

    Thank you megamom.

    I’m at

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed

Recent Ramblings


As Seen Through My Lens

01 Capped

02 Uncapped_corr

03 Prima Nib Front

04 Prima Nib Back

05 Artista Nib Front

06 Artista Nib Back

More Photos


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

